Gujarat Titans

2023-09-10 01:39:41

Gujarat Titans details,lineup,honors,characteristics,history.

Gujarat Titans

Regular kit

Cancer awareness kit

Gujarat Titans (GT) is a professional franchise cricket team based in Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India. The Titans compete in the Indian Premier League (IPL).[1][2][3] Founded in 2021, Gujarat Titans' home ground is Narendra Modi Stadium in Motera. The franchise is owned by CVC Capital Partners. The team is captained by Hardik Pandya and coached by Ashish Nehra.[4][5] They won their maiden title in the 2022 season, which was also their debut season.

Franchise history

The Governing Council of the Indian Premier League issued an invitation to tender for two new sides in August 2021.[6] A total of 22 companies declared an interest, but with a high base price for the new teams, there were no more than six serious bidders. The Board of Control for Cricket in India allowed a consortium of three companies or individuals to bid for each franchise. In October 2021, CVC Capital Partners won the rights to operate the Ahmedabad franchise with a bid of 5,625 crore (US$700 million).[7][8][9] Ahead of the IPL 2022 auctions, the franchise drafted Hardik Pandya as their captain.[4] In February 2022, the team was officially named Gujarat Titans.[10][11]

Team history

2022 IPL season

Although their auction methods and their selections during their first-ever auction were considered weak, and the team was written off, the Titans surprised everyone with their performances, gaining their first win against fellow newcomers Lucknow Super Giants. That win was the first in their inaugural campaign, which saw the Titans eventually win 10 of their 14 group matches, qualifying at the top of the table with 20 points. They then won the first qualifier against Rajasthan Royals, whom they would meet again in the final after their qualifier win against Royal Challengers Bangalore. Gujarat won the final by restricting Rajasthan to 130 on a pitch on which they were asked to bowl first, and chasing down the target with 11 balls to spare, which included Shubman Gill hitting the winning six off the first ball of the 19th over. Hardik Pandya was adjudged the Man of the Match for his bowling figures of 3/17 and his 34 from 30 balls with a strike rate of 113.33. Critics have praised Pandya's captaincy, bowling, and batting, with many agreeing that he and the management used their players well and worked as a team to win the tournament.[12]

This win meant that Gujarat became the second team to win the IPL in their very first season, the first being their final opponents, Rajasthan Royals. Nevertheless, Gujarat became the first team in the IPL against teams who already have been playing since 2008 to win the title in their very first outing. This win is also Hardik's 5th IPL title, and first as a captain, having won all previous four with the Mumbai Indians.[13]

Team identity

The team anthem used to be 'Aava De'. In the first IPL season, the song was sung by Aditya Gadhvi.

Home ground

The team's home ground is the Narendra Modi Stadium, which is situated in Motera, Gujarat.[14]

Kit manufacturers and sponsors


Indian Premier League

Current squad


Administration and support staff


Overall results in the IPL

Last updated 22 May 2023

By opposition

Last updated 27 May 2023


External links